Home > Operations Manager > SCOM: Report Subscription “Failure sending mail: The transport failed to connect to the server”

SCOM: Report Subscription “Failure sending mail: The transport failed to connect to the server”

Finally got a request to set up a subscription for an event report.  The person wanted this report for a particular event from X servers in the last 24 hours.  I create the report, set up subscription and saved it.  When I saved it I got an error about SQL Server Agent not started.  I found the SRS DB server, started the agent.  I figured I was good to go.  Next morning, no reports.  Look in the console and saw the subscriptions failed:

Failedtosend 

We don’t use Exchange to relay, we use Unix MTA servers.  We have a dedicated round robin DNS entry that will redirect servers to various MTA’s that allow anon relaying based on computer name and IP.  You have to register your servers with this process.  I verified I could telnet to the round robin and send a test message.  So I was baffled as to why it wasn’t working.  I checked the event log on the SRS server and saw a few of these, but they were not consistent with every failure:

SRSError

So I checked the Config utility:

SRSconfigtool

Looked good right?  Yes it did.  I bounced the SRS service, still no go.  I examined the SRS log files to see what I could find and found this:

“ReportingServicesService!emailextension!10!12/17/2009-16:24:22:: Error sending email. System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException (0x80040213): The transport failed to connect to the server.”

I saw several of these due to my testing.  I googled, I mean Binged! for this error and found a few results.  Most everyone was telling the person with the problem to look at the ReportServerConfig file and ensure the data was valid in there.  I looked at mine and saw it reflected what was in the config gui, but didn’t have the SMTP port listed.  I stopped SRS, added my change, started SRS:

srsconfigfile

Once I did that, I checked the status of the subscription in SCOM:

 success

Great success!  Within a minute I got all of the reports I had been trying to send initially.  Very Nice!

So if you have a similar problem, then you might want to mod the config file to put port 25 in there and see if that solves your issues.

Categories: Operations Manager
  1. Gnanesh
    November 15, 2015 at 11:43 pm

    Thanks your write up helped me

    –Gnanesh

    • November 16, 2016 at 8:44 am

      You’re welcome. HTH.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

