Home > Operations Manager > Ops Manager: Microsoft.EnterpriseManagement.Common.UnknownServiceException: The service threw an unknown exception.

Ops Manager: Microsoft.EnterpriseManagement.Common.UnknownServiceException: The service threw an unknown exception.

I work in a shared Operations Manager environment so today I created a management pack that would contain all of my custom computer groups (I.E. Exchange: ASIA, Exchange: EMEA, etc).  The reason I did this is so that I can seal the MP (which would contain groups only) and apply any over rides from other unsealed MP’s to my computer groups.

I created the management pack and then started to create my first computer group.  While I was trying to complete the creation of the group in the console I got this exception:

Microsoft.EnterpriseManagement.Common.UnknownServiceException: The service threw an unknown exception. See inner exception for details. —> System.ServiceModel.FaultException`1[System.ServiceModel.ExceptionDetail]: parsing "^.*(mcs|MCS).*)$" – Too many )’s. (Fault Detail is equal to An ExceptionDetail, likely created by IncludeExceptionDetailInFaults=true, whose value is:
Microsoft.EnterpriseManagement.Mom.DatabaseQueryModules.DatabaseQueryModuleException: parsing "^.*(mcs|MCS).*)$" – Too many )’s. —-> System.ArgumentException: parsing "^.*(mcs|MCS).*)$" – Too many )’s.
   at System.Text.RegularExpressions.RegexParser.ScanRegex()
   at System.Text.RegularExpressions.RegexParser.Parse(String re, RegexOptions op)
   at System.Text.RegularExpressions.Regex..ctor(String pattern, RegexOptions options, Boolean useCache)

…etc…etc…etc…

The output was similar over and over again, despite the fact that I changed the criteria for the regular expression.  I found a post on the news groups about something similar (from Anders) and I tried the solution (bounce the SDK service on the RMS and run the console with the /clearcache switch).  This did not fix anything and I got the same error.

I decided to delete the management pack, to see if that was what might have been causing the issue.  I deleted the management pack and created a new one.  I created a group and saved it to the new management pack and it worked.  I am not 100% sure that the management pack was the issue, but once I deleted that I was able to create groups and save them in the new management pack with no issues.

If this happens to you, then I hope you will find this helpful.

Categories: Operations Manager
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

