Home > MOM > MOM 2005 Agent Pending Uninstall – 21078

MOM 2005 Agent Pending Uninstall – 21078

Today I looked in the MOM 2005 Admin console and checked pending actions.  I am used to seeing one computer listed in there from EMEA that isn’t registered in DNS correctly.  However, today I saw a SharePoint server listed in the pending uninstall. 
 
I rejected the uninstall and ran a computer scan again.  It showed up again but I didn’t understand why.
 
So I uninstalled and reinstalled the agent.  Then I looked in the management server’s application log again and I saw this:
 
=====
 
Event Type: Error
Event Source: Microsoft Operations Manager
Event Category: None
Event ID: 21078
Date:  8/12/2008
Time:  3:51:07 PM
User:  N/A
Computer: XXXXXXMOM03
Description:
Computer Discovery Engine failed to contact machine "XXXXXXIISNB". 
This could be a misspelled computer name or the computer is not contactable.
 
Error Message:
"Machine name:XXXXXXIISNB [IP:XXX.XXX.XXX.76], Error: Workstation info failed with Status code : 1792, Error Message: An attempt was made to logon, but the network logon service was not started.
"
For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
 
=====
 
Well how about that.  IF I had only looked here first, I could have saved myself a lot of time.  I went out to the server in question and sure enough the netlogon service was not running (but set to automatic).  I started it, ran a scan again, and the agent was no longer in pending uninstall.
 
 
Categories: MOM
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

