Home > MOM > Consolidation Rule Fun!

Consolidation Rule Fun!

So we want to monitor for a particular event that occurs ten times in a twenty-four hours raise an alert.
 
I created the alert rule and the consolidation rule and I set it for 30 seconds for testing.  It worked.  I changed the time for consolidation from 30 seconds to 84,000 seconds ran the test again and got no alerts.
 
I suspect there is a hard limit to the time an event must occur in seconds on a consolidation rule.
 
I will have to open a case with MSFT and figure this one out.
 
Marcus Oh told me to stop being lazy and script a solution, but I have to fly him out to California.  Any one want to donate to the Fly Marcus Out Fund?
 
The way I see it, and from my sources at MSFT, the way the consolidation rule is doing things is like so:
 
Event rule says: Event # with repeat count > 10
 
Consolidation rule says: Event # within time period of X
 
So if you set the time period to be 5 minutes, then the consolidation rule will start counting at the first event, and if at the end of the 5 minutes if there were more then 10 events MOM will alert you.  Ideally you would want to be alerted after 10 events within the 5 minute time frame, however my understanding is that MOM will only alert you if your conditions were matched at the end of the time frame from the first event generated.
Categories: MOM
  1. Unknown
    July 31, 2007 at 2:30 am

    Could you please let me know if we could create a consolidation rule even while alerts being generated using a VBSCRIPT as in case of teh Block Analysis script for SQL 2005 and SQL 2005? 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

