Home > MOM > MOM 2005 and Share Point Portal Server Web Part

MOM 2005 and Share Point Portal Server Web Part

I have always been interested in trying to get some time to figure out how to integrate MOM 2005 with Share Point Portal Server.  The documentation for the MOM web part in the resource kit is light, but on the money.
 
This weekend I decided to figure this integration out.  My virtual lab consisted of:
 
Windows 2003 Domain Controller
Windows 2003 Server with SQL 2000 SP3a
Windows 2003 Server with MOM 2005, SQL Reporting Services, Share Point Portal Server (SPS) 2003 (evaluation version)
 
I kind of struggled to get SPS 2003 set up.  Install was not that big of a deal, but learning how to create a portal was somewhat time consuming (because I didn’t want to read the manual).  After I got the portal set up I knew I was ready to install the web parts from the MOM 2005 Resource Kit. 
 
I installed the package without any problems and then went to my portal to add the web part.  It would not allow my web part to be added.  I forgot to set the configuration for my portal to be "trust=FULL".  The resource kit documentation explains what file you have to modify for this to work, but I had over looked it.  After I did the modification I was able to add the web part. 
 
When you add the web part it asks you to do some customization of the presentation.  I was anxious to see how it looked, so I filled in what I needed and checked several boxes (checking boxes is so easy!).  After I applied my changes I was able to see my alerts in SPS.  You can even click on the alert and it will bring up the image from the web console if you have it installed.  It’s read only, but you can look through all the tabs that the alert has.  Very neat!
 
The MOM 2005 web part is perfect if you want to present your alerts to management or business units who rely on your applications or services.  If a NOC or Help Desk does not have any direct access to your MOM consoles, then this is also a great way to display that information so that multiple people can view what is going on in MOM without hitting that 15 console connection limit (recommended max console connections by MSFT in order to preserve MOM performance).
 
My setup was purely for proof of concept.  There are probably more secure and better designs for doing this if deploying into a production environment.  Nonetheless, it is possible the way I did it and it works just fine.  The nice thing about this web part is that it can probably be tuned and added on to so that you can create a nice executive dashboard and get that bonus you probably deserve!
Categories: MOM
  1. ibrahim
    August 1, 2005 at 10:00 am

    can we use it with the free SharePoint in 2003 Server?, or it has to be the sharepoint portal

  2. Blake
    August 2, 2005 at 2:53 pm

    This web part works with SPS or WPS. The only catch is that a management server has to be installed on a SPS server, or you have to instal SPS/WPS on a management server.You cannot deploy this web part to a dedicated SPS server and point it to a MOM management server.They recommend that the management server be added to your configuration group and have NO AGENTS reporting to it, but I was told by someone in Microsoft Consulting Services that this might not be true.Eitherway, you can use the free Windows Portal Services (?) to host this web part as long as it is installed on your management server (you need IIS of course).Give it a try, I\’m sure you will be impressed!

  3. ibrahim
    August 16, 2005 at 8:10 am

    thanks for your answer, i will give it a try this weekend, i have a server 2k3 that has sharepoint, will install the MOM 2k5.. do i need to install mom reporting, sql 2000 reporting? , or i could use the current MOM server that has everything installed on it and point Sharepoint with mom 2k5 to my MOM server?

  4. Blake
    August 24, 2005 at 5:08 pm

    To use the web part you only need the management server installed on a sharepoint server, or install windows sharepoint services onto your management server. IIS is of course required. You cannot put the web part on a remote WSS or SPS site and point it to your MOM server, it has to sit on the Management server or the Managemenet server has to be installed on the SPS or server with WSS. They may fix that in the next version of MOM.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

